Bacon Maple Sprouts

Have you seen Alton Brown’s new cookbook?  I’ve been a fan of Alton’s for a long time.  I enjoyed his show Good Eats on the Food Network and continue to enjoy his work.  I also really enjoyed the Alton Browncast Podcast when he was making that.  It was a delightful listen in on things he enjoys.  I really like hearing about the science behind food preparation, and Alton does a great job of explaining that.  As I was putting together my menu for Thanksgiving, I knew I wanted to put brussels sprouts on the menu and as I was dabbling through his cookbook, this seemed like an excellent pick.  So, from Alton Brown: Everyday CookI bring you bacon maple sprouts.

Bacon Maple Sprouts.jpg

Bacon Maple Sprouts

4 rashers bacon
1 1/2 lb Brussels sprouts
1 large apple, chopped
2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
1 Tbsp maple syrup

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place the bacon on a half sheet pan and roast for 20 minutes, flipping once, until crisp.  Remove the pan from the oven and the bacon from the pan.  While the bacon is making the kitchen smell awesome, trim and split the sprouts.

Toss the sprouts and apples with the bacon fat and spread in an even layer on a half sheet pan, placing as many sprouts cut-side down as possible.

Roast for 20 to 25 minutes, until the sprouts are browned and tender.  Crumble the bacon while the sprouts roast.

Meanwhile, whisk together the mustard and syrup.  When the sprouts and apples are brown, put them back in the bowl you seasoned them in and toss with the maple mustard and bacon.