A Thank You Dinner

A couple weeks ago I moved. I moved nearly everything on my own, but for a few bigger items, a couple of friends helped me out. So, this morning I finished cooking a meal for them which I will take to them later today. There are a couple of great recipes I want to share…so here’s what I’ve cooked!

My Thank You Dinner:

  • Two types of brats from the St. Joe Meat Market
  • Cheesy Hashbrowns (Our Family Version of the Recipe Below)
  • My Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies (No Idea where the recipe came from, but it’s below)
  • Kitchen Sink Cookies (Recipe Below, courtesy of The Classic Zucchini Cookbook)

I’m also sharing a recipe for Zucchini Carrot Cake, also taken from the Classic Zucchini Cookbook. I made the cake a week ago to use up some tasty zucchini, as it’s zucchini season here… and now I just need to frost it. Don’t worry! It’s been waiting in the freezer for frosting! I made it a couple times last year and it was delicious! I want to celebrate the end of summer with my students, so I’m taking it to the office tomorrow!

Now, for the recipes:

Family Cheesy Hashbrowns

2 lb frozen hashbrowns

1 can cream of potato soup

1 can cream of celery

16 oz sour cream with chives (my favorite is top the tator)

Salt and pepper to taste

Chopped onion and green pepper (optional)

12 oz cheddar cheese

Mix all together and put in 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 for 90 minutes. Put crushed corn flakes mixed with butter on top and put in the last 10 minutes until crisp.

Variations: sometimes I add fresh chives to the mixture. I’ve also sautéed the onion and green pepper to cut down on the bitterness a bit.

Chocolate Chip Cookies (Makes a ton!)

2 c margarine

2 c sugar

2 c brown sugar

4 eggs

2 tsp baker’s mystery flavor

12 oz dark chocolate chip cookies

12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chip cookies

1 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp baking powder

4 c flour

5 c flour

Cream together the butter and sugars. Add eggs and vanilla. Mix together salt, baking soda, baking powder. Put small amounts of oatmeal in food processor until it turns into powder. Mix all ingredients together. Add chips. Spoon onto cookie sheet and place 2 inches apart. Bake at 400 for 8-10 minutes.

The recipes from the Classic Zucchini cookbook will be added in the future!

Leave a Reply

