Double Irish Chain and a Quilt Along

So, it’s been awhile since I quilted. I’ve made a few small projects over the past year, but for Christmas had received a sewing machine. With it, I made a quilt for my sister for her bridal shower. Since this time, I have not taken a lot of time to really get familiar with my sewing machine. I recently moved and have settled down a bit (and have purchased some great fabric!) and am ready to get my stash down a bit and document my quilting. This is the first part of my documenting it. I will try and share which wonderful online tutorials and quilt-alongs I am doing. Right now I have about 5 projects on hold…but tonight spent a little time working on 2 of them. As a result, I figured I might as well start sharing. I’d love to continue to chat with the quilting world and bloggers out there! I’ll work on the making this blog beautiful, but for now wanted to let you know the two projects on tap at the moment.

1. The Charm Pack Quilt-Along happening at the Freckled Whimsy web site. I’m using some Amy Butler fabrics I had purchased awhile ago and white fabric I picked up at Hancock Fabrics a few weeks ago. I finished step one tonight and assuming I get my work done tomorrow, I’ll get step two done so I can be all caught up. The fabrics are mostly pastel, from Amy Butler’s Modern lines.

2. A Double Irish Chain quilt. Last spring I had picked up some of Valori Wells’ fabric at the Crafty Planet – an amazing fabric store in Minneapolis and after finishing one pattern, I stopped into Aunt Annie’s Quilts and Silks in Avon with the fabric and after a lot of looking around, they helped me pick out some great fabrics (brown and orange). The strips are sewn together on this one and hopefully this week I will get them cut apart and sew into the larger blocks.

Thanks for reading!

Gwen

Leave a Reply

