Machine Quilting!!

I don’t have much of an update, as I haven’t done much project-wise for sewing updates… Here’s what I can share. I’ve picked out my fabric to make a new quilt for my bedspread. I’m deciding between two patterns, but the fabric in question is below.

I am deciding between a pattern called City Blocks which wouldn’t be stretching my skills and abilities all that much, and a Whirlygig pattern. I can’t figure out the Whirlygig pattern without wasting fabric, though. Anyone have thoughts on this? I’ll gladly take all suggestions! I started with this fabric while at Gruber’s Quilt Shop and then found my way to several of these other fabrics.

On Saturday I sent out my first block for the Solid Bee Block. It’s my first bee that I’m participating in, but I have several going right now. I’m waiting for instructions on the October blocks for the different bees I’m participating in. One includes some paper piecing, which will be a new experience, but I tried a little bit today in the Machine Quilting class I took!

That’s right! I took a Machine Quilting class at Gruber’s today. It is to help me learn how to use my sewing machine to quilt different quilts I’m working on. I feel pretty confident with Stitch in the Ditch or simple rows, but when it comes to free motion quilting, I’ve still got a lot of work to do. And, since I’ve still got work left on cutting for the Freckled Whimsy Charm Pack quilt-along, I just need to trim up all my little squares. Maybe I’ll keep my sewing machine in the packet until I’m finished trimming these up! It’ll be good motivation to get that done, right? However, I just need to finish these up so I can start to work on my quilt top for my bed, and so I can start adding more to my etsy shop. If you have a chance to take the Beginner Sewing Machine Quilting class with Chris, I highly recommend it – she is a super star! And, while I was at Gruber’s, I was able to pick up a the backing for the Freebird Nine Patch and the binding. I should be ready to go once I have a table where I can pin that quilt together! Majority of the story: I need to practice, practice, practice!

Speaking of the etsy shop, I’ve made my first sale! However, because I had incorrectly forwarded my mail, the sale happened two weeks ago! I feel like such an idiot! It’s for a  beautiful scarf, and I put that in the mail on Saturday, but I felt so horrible for having done that! Hopefully the recipient is understanding and will not hold it against me. Not to have a poor me moment, but I felt absolutely horrible. Once I get some more stuff added to the shop, hopefully it will get better.

Finally, putting in a plug for hunch. It’s a great new web site I read about in Wired Magazine and am completely intrigued by the concept. It works similar to Netflix or Amazon in making recommendations for you based on your ratings, but I like it most for the random questions it asks. I think you should play around with it for a bit if you have time!

4 thoughts on “Machine Quilting!!

  1. Alice says:

    I’m not sure what you meant by “wasting fabric” for a whirlygig block. I had very little waste with the one that I made. I rotated (do NOT flip) one piece next to another so that it made a square and then two squares made a rectangle. My pieces were 5.5″ long on the square side (not the angled side), so I could get the four pieces for the whirlygig out of a 5.5″ x 11-12″ rectangle with no waste. For the background fabric, I cut 5.5″ strips and was able to get about 14 pieces out of each strip. One thing: I made a cardboard template for the shape including seam allowance, drew around the shape with a pen and then cut the pieces out. I cut the strips of the background fabric with a rotary cutter and then drew the pieces. I was using odd sized scraps for the whirlygigs, so using a template was more practical.

    • I was trying to figure out how to use Charm Packs and have solid blocks with patterned ones in between. Similar to the first Whirlygig I point out. Maybe it’s one of those things I need to actually do and then it will make sense?

      • Alice says:

        That’s like the one I made, as near as I can figure. I don’t see why you couldn’t do it using charm squares, whether you had two alike or not. You’d have to use slightly smaller pieces than I did – two pieces would equal about a 4.5″ x 5″ rectangle.

        This is mine:
        Windmill quilt without border

  2. I love it! I have my template ready and I think I’m ready to try this…it’ll probably be the next thing I work on because I’m excited to get started, but also know I have a few things to finish up along the way 🙂

    Thanks for participating in the blog and sharing your feedback. Now that I have a chance to really read it, I can see what you were discussing!

    Your quilt is beautiful, by the way! I love the colors in it!

Leave a Reply

