Vanilla Bourbon Cake and Squash Enchiladas

Pinwheel Solid Bee BlockIt’s been a little while since I have updated my cooking site, but not for a lack of cooking/baking.

This year is the year of cakes/desserts. For a few reasons, I’m starting to explore baking in a more planful way. Rather than baking whatever whims come my way, I’m trying to be intentional. Because I’m trying to eat more healthfully, I’m also trying to make cakes only for special occasions. But, since I’m making them for special occasions, I’m wanting to acknowledge important days for several of my friends.

Thus, I am self-appointed birthday cake/dessert/pie maker. To this point, there have been three birthdays which I have baked for. However, I only have pictures for one of them. The week of a friend’s birthday, I send this little survey for inspiration:

About

  • coffee? Pro or con?
  • Orange juice? Pro or con?
  • Coconut? Pro or con?
  • Rum? Pro or con?
  • Mint? Pro or con?

Choose:

  • Fruit or Chocolate
  • Orange Juice or Coffee
  • Fluffy or Molded
  • Ice Cream or None
  • Favorite Alcohol
  • Pie, Cake, or Dessert

From this, I’ve made a Kahlua Bundt Cake, a Triple Chocolate Bundt Cake (a kid was coming to that party), and most recently a Vanilla Bourbon Bundt Cake with Pomegranate Icing. This is probably the cake I was most proud of, but also the cake with which I was most disappointed.

Pinwheel Solid Bee BlockThe Vanilla Bourbon Bundt Cake originally cake from Bon Apetit magazine. The blog I found the recipe from was The Craving Chronicles. I love the presentation of it there and think it looks absolutely delicious! Then, I found the Pomegranate Icing recipe on a fellow Minnesotan’s blog: A Good Appetite. Because my friend shared that bourbon was his favorite alcohol and pomegranate his favorite fruit, this seemed to be an exciting option. My disappointment in the cake was only because of the fact that it didn’t rise to the level I would have liked it to have done. It baked more like a pound cake and less like the traditional bundt cake. Oh well. That doesn’t mean it won’t be tried again. Everyone who ate it enjoyed it, and one person even asked to make sure they were on the birthday rotation.

In the last month, I’ve also made Chicken Tortilla Soup:

It turned out really well and was absolutely delicious! It made a whole lot and I have leftovers in the fridge! Although I cheated by not making my own stock (which could only enhance the taste of the soup itself), I had some canned chicken stock that needed to be used up! My Kitchen Moovement’s Chicken Tortilla Soup is absolutely delicious and worth every minute it takes to make it. I don’t think I could fashion a more tasty version of Chicken Tortilla soup and in reality only made one major change to the soup. Black Beans are my favorite food, so I had to add a can of them to the soup to make it meet my needs. If you’re up for it on one of these wonderful fall days, try making a little soup and eating it with your friends.

I’ve made a few other items, but nothing that was new to me. However, one recipe I must blog about and am sad I didn’t take more pictures along the way is for Squash Enchiladas. Now that squash is in season, this is, beyond the Curried Squash Soup recipe I have, my absolute favorite squash recipe. I also make a pretty decent squash bread. But, tonight I made Squash Enchiladas. Here’s the recipe:

Squash Enchiladas

  • 1 squash
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 c corn
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1 c cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 package taco seasoning
  • 6-8 tortillas
  • 1 jar Frontera Enchilada Sauce

Bake the squash until it is cooked. While squash is baking, saute the onion in some olive oil until is is tender. Mash squash, mix other ingredients with squash, except for Enchilada sauce and tortillas. Spoon the mixture into tortillas and place into a greased glass pan. Then, pour enchilada sauce over the enchiladas and bake in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes. Sprinkle with any cheddar cheese you would like.

I like this recipe for lots of reasons. It’s vegetarian, it is easy, and stays well in the refrigerator.

Make it and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Vanilla Bourbon Cake and Squash Enchiladas

  1. Krista says:

    Yum.. I have been scoping around for frontera here and have had no luck.. I am going to try the whole foods this weekend.. I hope it’s there.

    Love the blogs!!!

Leave a Reply

