First Dinner for Hire

I don’t remember if I shared this before or not and I’m just a little too lazy to look at the moment, but a colleague at work has asked me to cook for her family once each week. I am cooking tonight for the first of these dinners to bring to work tomorrow. Tonight’s dinner is using some supplies from Trader Joe’s. I am making BBQ Chicken Sandwiches and Couscous Salad. In continuing to cook for her family, I’ve decided to embrace my love of church cookbooks and will aspire to use at least one church cookbook recipe each week in cooking for them (and eating myself).

So, here are tonight’s recipes:

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches:

  • 4 large chicken breasts
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1 c Roasted Garlic Salsa

Put in crockpot for 3-4 hours on high. Shred and put on bun to eat.

 

Couscous Salad

  • 1 package Harvest Grain Blend
  • 1 can black beans
  • 3 ½ c chicken stock
  • 1 c corn
  • 1 jar Roasted Garlic Salsa

Cook Harvest Grain Blend with chicken stock per package directions. Add black beans, corn, and salsa. Serve warm or cold.

 

Pictures to come!

 

Leave a Reply

