Chicken Wild Rice Soup and Cookies that taste like Christmas

Winter has completely arrived in Minnesota. It seems that once I returned from Thanksgiving, everything has been running full speed ahead. Whether it’s trying to make sure my papers are done for class, reading for class, finishing quilt blocks and items for exchanges, or other things, life has been buuuuusy. And blogland has taken a backseat. I haven’t even found the time to take photos of most of the stuff I’ve been working on. Instead, I’ve just been trying to get stuff done.

However, I brought lunch for the office today and took a not-so-great photo of it quickly. It’s Chicken Wild Rice Soup. My favorite recipe, also from Cooking Light several years ago. If you’re looking for a relatively easy, but also delicious Chicken and Wild Rice Soup, I highly recommend it. (I also had the added benefit of everything being on sale at the grocery store this week that was needed). Back when I was first living on my own, off-campus, I started subscribing to Cooking Light. And I haven’t turned back yet. Every issue has at least one, if not twenty, recipe I cannot wait to try. I like to think there’s the added bonus of being relativley healthy, and this is it.

It’s reheating in the crockpot waiting for lunch today, but made it last night on the stovetop.

Roasted Chicken with Wild Rice Soup

Ingredients

  • 1  (6-ounce) box long-grain and wild rice mix (such as Uncle Ben’s)
  • 1  tablespoon  olive oil
  • 1 1/2  cups  chopped red onion
  • 1  cup  chopped celery
  • 1  cup  chopped carrot
  • 2  garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1  (8-ounce) package mushrooms, halved
  • 1/4  cup  all-purpose flour
  • 1/2  teaspoon  dried tarragon
  • 1/4  teaspoon  dried thyme
  • 2  cups  water
  • 2  tablespoons  dry sherry
  • 2  (15.75-ounce) cans fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
  • 1  (12-ounce) can fat-free evaporated milk
  • 3  cups  shredded roasted skinless chicken

Preparation

Prepare rice according to package directions; set aside.

Heat oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add chopped onion and next 4 ingredients (onion through mushrooms), and sauté for 6 minutes or until onion is tender. Lightly spoon the flour into a dry measuring cup, and level with a knife. Stir the flour, tarragon, and thyme into the onion mixture, and cook for 1 minute, stirring frequently. Add 2 cups water, sherry, broth, and evaporated milk; bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes or until slightly thick. Stir in cooked rice and chicken; cook for 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

The other item I made and gave away in the last few weeks was Cookies that Taste Like Christmas. I started looking through my cupboards, trying to find what I needed to use up during the Christmas holiday baking season and found I had several half-used bags of chips of different varieties from making items this fall. So, it called for none other than a giant batch of Chocolate Chip Cookies. However, I also added a whole bunch of other stuff. When I finally bit into one of the cookies, it tasted like Christmas in my mouth. A few folks have asked for the recipe, and while I don’t have a picture of the cookies, they went like hotcakes wherever I took them. Enjoy!

Christmas Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 c Butter
2 c Sugar (granulated, white)
2 c Brown sugar (dark brown)
4 lg Eggs
2 t Vanilla extract
4 c Flour (sift before measuring)
5 c Rolled oats (oatmeal), powdered finely
1 t Salt
2 t Baking soda
2 t Baking powder
18 oz chocolate chips
12 oz white chocolate chips
6 oz butterscotch chips
6 oz cinnamon chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream together the butter and the sugars. Use a food processor to turn oatmeal into a fine powder, similar to your flour.

2. Sift together flour, oatmeal, salt, baking soda, baking powder. Add eggs and vanilla to creamed sugar and butter, then mix all ingredients together. I’m a fan of using Creme Bouquet, which can be found at www.kitchenkrafts.com because it adds a few flavors folks can’t quite pick up on and makes your cookies truly unique. Mix chocolate chips into mixture.

3. Drop by onto ungreased cookie sheet in small drops. Bake 8-12 minutes, depending on how done you like your cookies to be.

Leave a Reply

