New Years Resolutions

I’m not much for making resolutions in the new year. However, I have traditionally figured out one skill I would like to build in a new year and focused on this. One year it was knife skills, another year it was knitting. As I begin to think about this year and what I would like to do better, it’s bread making. I asked for and received a nice serrated knife for Christmas and thus have begun to think a bit about the breads I would like to make. Foccacia and other breads of that sort are on my list. Otherwise, yeast breads are basically there.

I’ve also joined Daring Bakers at www.thedaringkitchen.com and am excited to complete the first of the many challenges which I plan to take part in through this. I think it will help me to expand my repertoire quite a bit. In thinking about expanding my cooking skills, I’m also hoping to make my list of 100 dishes I’d like to try. Goodness knows I keep running into things I think I’d like to make. It’s time I started writing them down J

The final thing on my list today is that in 2011 I hope to figure out what kinds of food I can make to make me feel good. Rather than committing to a specific eating plan or otherwise, I want 2011 to be the year I once again find my flair. To do this, I believe I need to feel good about myself. I believe that certain foods can affect how you feel. So, I’m embarking on a test of my digestive system. By cutting a certain type of food out of my diet/or practicing different food practices throughout the year, I’m hoping to find out what dietary items make me feel good. Here’s what I’ve got on my list:

  1. No sweets/sugar-free
  2. Meat-Free/Vegetarian
  3. No processed foods
  4. No gluten
  5. No lactose

I’m willing to add others if there are suggestions. I will be starting with sugar-free/no sweets, as it is just a good way to start the year. In this, I will do my best to not eat sweets and cook in a sugar-free way. It’s also just a good way to detox after the holidays. If you have recipes/ideas, please send my way. The one exception I have will be my sister’s birthday on Saturday. I promised to make her a cake. I plan to stay sugar-free during January and February.

Happy New Year!

 

2 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions

  1. These are great resolutions. Keep us updated on the diet elimination. I need to eliminate caffeine, but I don’t have the willpower right now.

Leave a Reply

