A Quilt for Jenny’s Wedding

Awhile back, my roommate Krista, who you may have read about on my cooking blog, asked me if I would make her a quilt to give to her sister for her sister’s wedding. As you can see from my lack of posting lately, life has just been quite chaotic and working on sewing has been at the bottom of my priority list. However, I’ve since decided to apply to a PhD program for the next academic year, so am taking a semester away from my theology studies. Therefore, I was able to spend a lot of time quilting over this break. Since we head back to work today, I’m getting a few blog posts ready to update you on what I’ve been up to. I know I tweeted a lot about what I was working on, but now am wanting to update my blog and share with you about the projects I’ve been working on.

Anyhoo, Jenny was married back in August. Krista gave Jenny the fabric and showed her the pattern she’d picked out and then before moving to Boston, game me the fabric. I had hoped to have it done by Christmas, but clearly I didn’t. In the days following, I’ve been able to sew the top of the quilt and now need to pin it together so I can machine quilt it. The pattern was a pretty basic pattern with lots of appliquéd circles throughout it. Krista’s sister Jenny loves skulls and black – she even had a black

 

wedding gown! So, the quilt itself is primarily black, and the circles are green with skulls, purple, black with purple dots, green with light green dots, and a white lined circle. There’s an inner border of the white fabric and the other fabric has either the green skull fabric or the purple fabric. I’m hoping to get it pinned together this week.

Here are some photos! Enjoy!

 

One thought on “A Quilt for Jenny’s Wedding

Leave a Reply

