Pulled Pork Sandwiches

One of the most delicious items I have found myself craving as of late and which I am always seeking for the best recipe ever is a Pulled Pork Sandwich. I make them a couple times a year for different events. One event I’ve made them for annually is John Deere Day. For most folks, John Deere Day is a little known holiday. In my family, however, it is a kind of big deal. My dad owns the John Deere dealership in the town in which I grew up. When my sister had to name her favorite holiday as a kid in Kindergarten, she selected John Deere Day. I don’t know why the holiday is significant in our lives at all, really. The so-called “holiday” is customer appreciation day at the store. Generally, we serve pork sandwiches, root beer floats, potato chips, and baked beans. It’s morphed slightly throughout the years, but these are the basics of the day. Customers come in, eat a good meal, kids sit on tractors, and we go home four hours later. In my life, I believe I’ve only missed one John Deere Day.

I never intended to attend every John Deere Day, but gradually they became more important to me, and less important to others. It was a great way to do a little socializing, see some family, and spend some time with my family. For the last few years, I work the morning and drive home in the afternoon to attend the day. Before I head home, I make lunch for anyone who wishes to partake. Note that this is a three hour drive each way, so it takes quite a bit of time to head to my home town, especially when doing a roundtrip visit.

In homage to all that John Deere Day is, mostly a recognition to my family, I cook for my co-workers and make all green and yellow things. Since John Deere Day takes place in the summer, I get to make lots of fresh vegetable salads and things of this nature. One staple, however, is pulled pork sandwiches, because it’s the tradition of it all. And, because John Deere Day is in the summer, I make the food when students aren’t around.

A couple of weeks ago my students were doing a selection meeting for our programming board and I decided to cook for them with all of the evenings they would be putting in for the selection of next year’s board. And, for something quick and easy, I made pulled pork sandwiches, cheesy hashbrowns, and salad.

The best part of the situation is that the Pulled Pork Recipe I use is from the John Deere version of the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook. If you’re looking for a great recipe, I highly recommend it. Pick it up and check it out. It makes for a great, un-saucy, delicious sandwich.

pork sandwiches

Pulled Pork Sandwich

3 pounds boneless pork shoulder blade roast
8 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons coriander
2 teaspoons cumin
2 teaspoons oregano
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon each salt and pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 cup beef broth

Trim as much fat from meat as possible. In a small bowl combine garlic, coriander, cumin, oregano, onion powder, salt, pepper and red pepper; rub into the meat. Place meat in a 3 1/3- to 5- quart slow cooker; add beef broth. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or on high heat setting 4 to 5 hours.

Remove meat from liquid with a slotted spoon; discard excess fat from cooking liquid, reserving liquid. Separate fat off of meat with 2 forks and discard fat. Shred the meat using the forks to pull through it in opposite directions. Stir in enough of the reserved cooking liquid to moisten the meat.

One thought on “Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

