African Chicken Stew

I’ve been working to clean out my fridge, freezer and cupboards. At the end of May, I need to move someplace other than where I’m living currently. I have yet to decide where that will be, but at the moment, I am fully aware that it is away from here. My current home has been re-rented, and I will find a place to live when it is time to do so. Until then, I am trying to reduce the amount of “stuff” I need to move with me in order to be more efficient.

This weekend, I was taking inventory. I’ve been looking at what is there and needs to be used up and assess my cooking habits based on that. While I was looking at the freezer, I found some rotisserie chicken from before that needed to be used up. I also found tomato paste and peanut butter. And I recalled a recipe I made last year from Kalyn’s Kitchen, a great food blog. So, I decided to make it and adjust a few things along the way.

West African Chicken and Peanut Stew with Chiles, Ginger, and Green Onions
(Makes 4-6 servings, recipe adapted from150 Things to Make with Roast Chicken and 50 Ways to Roast It by Tony Rosenfield.)

1-2 T olive or canola oil
1/4 cup finely diced red onion
2 tsp. finely minced jalapeno
salt to taste (I used about 1/4 tsp. sea salt)
1 tsp. chile powder
1 cup chicken stock (chicken broth from a can is fine)
1/2 cup chunky peanut butter
2 T tomato paste
1 T cider vinegar
3 cups diced, cooked chicken
fresh ground black pepper to taste
3-4 green onions (scallions) thinly sliced

Finely chop the red onion, ginger, and jalapeno, and roughly chop the chicken. Heat oil in a heavy pan, add finely diced onion, ginger, and jalapenos, season with salt, and saute about 2 minutes. Add the chile powder, stir into other ingredients, and saute about 1 minute more.

Add chicken stock, peanut butter, tomato paste, and apple cider vinegar, stir, and bring to a slight boil. As soon as it starts to boil, lower heat to a very gentle simmer, add roughly chopped chicken, gently stir to combine, and let simmer 10-15 minutes.

While mixture simmers, wash, dry, and slice green onions. After 10-15 minutes, gently stir again if the oil from the peanut butter has separated. Serve hot, with a generous handful of green onion slices on each serving.

One thought on “African Chicken Stew

  1. Krista says:

    Please bring me some here in Boston! I have been at the library all day and didn’t get to eat lunch. 😦 I am so hungry and this looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

