Cilantro Pesto Potato Salad

My dad decided to plant some herbs this summer, which is a new addition to the family garden. He has taken a sudden interest in canning, as well as how to integrate these fresh herbs into the things he makes. Since I’m spending my staycation at their place, I decided to do some cooking which integrated their herbs into food. So, I went to my favorite web site for cooking inspiration: Tastespotting. Have you ever visited it? If not, I highly recommend checking it out. While he is making pork chops for dinner, and using some of his rosemary in the marinade, I decided to use up some potatoes and make a potato salad.

Being from Minnesota, there are often two—maybe three—camps for potato salad. There’s the mayo/miracle whip camp, the mustard camp, and the German potato salad (served warm) camp. It was quite surprising, then, when I decided to make a Cilantro Pesto Potato Salad. I was inspired by the recipe I found on the Love Food Eat blog. In eating it tonight, we each decided to add a few things to jazz up our potato salad. We added red pepper, black pepper, chili powder, and other things to our plates to try integrating different flavors. There was an overall consensus that sea salt was best.

Cilantro Pesto Potato Salad

  • 5-6 potatoes
  • Bunch cilantro
  • 12 almonds
  • ¼ tsp sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

Cut the potatoes and boil on the stove until firm, but fork tender. In a food processor, combine cilantro, almonds, sea salt, and olive oil. After potatoes are cooked, drain and mix in the “pesto” you have created. I chilled my potato salad in a refrigerator all day.

One thought on “Cilantro Pesto Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

