Rhubarb Torte

There is little about early summer I love more than rhubarb. In fact, my sister called a couple weeks ago and had made our family-favorite rhubarb bars. My mom also makes a mean rhubarb freezer jam. I have no doubt I will make planting rhubarb a priority someday when I purchase my own house. For now, however, I beg, borrow, and buy rhubarb whenever I can and know the season is never as long as I want it to be.

Rhubarb has such a unique flavor. It’s tart. It’s tasty. It needs to be sweetened. Perhaps I have an affinity for rhubarb because it looks a little bit like celery (which I know I should eat) and tastes so much better (or maybe just has flavor?!) It’s kind of like eating sweet tarts without all the sweetness!

Last week I made a rhubarb torte. I doubled the recipe so it could go in a 9×13 pan and every step of the way, my mom was reminding me to double what I had used.

Now for a few confessions:

  1. This was my first time making whipped cream on my own. I slightly over-whipped it. It didn’t get close to making butter, but another couple minutes and we would have been there without question.
  2. I didn’t really care, because I don’t like whipped cream. Some people love it. I don’t. I don’t like it on top of pie, cake, hot chocolate, or anything else. I’ve grown up enough to eat it when it’s served to me, but I would rarely intentionally add it myself. Thankfully, this dessert has pudding on top of the whipped cream. In my eyes, this was a redeeming factor.

Remember my desire to cook from church cookbooks? This recipe is almost as good as I found it in my mom’s recipe box, but don’t recall her ever making it before. Yummy!

Rhubarb Torterhubarb torte

Base:

1 c crushed graham cracker

2 Tbsp sugar

4 Tbsp melted butter

Save 2 Tsp mixture for garnish. Pat in 9×9 pan. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

Cool.

Filling:

1 c sugar

3 Tbsp cornstarch

4 c diced rhubarb

½ c water

1 Tbsp cherry jello (not sugar free to insure correct sugar ratio)

Combine sugar and cornstarch. Stir in rhubarb and water. Cook and stir until thickened. Reduce heat. Cook 2-3 minutes. Add jello and spread on cooled crush. Cool.

Topping:

1 c whipping cream

1 ½ c miniature marshmallows

Whip cream and fold in marshmallows. Spoon on top of rhubarb mixture.

1 pkg instant coconut cream pudding

Prepare pudding according to package directions and spread over whipped cream.

Sprinkle with reserved crumbs.

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Torte

Leave a Reply

