Macaroni Coleslaw

We planned to have members of the extended family over a couple of weeks ago and were trying to think of what to serve them that would say summer. We were going back and forth and back and forth, when I suggested coleslaw. Following yesterday’s confession, I am going to confess again. I don’t really like coleslaw, but I know it’s part of traditional summer fare. If we’re going to eat coleslaw, I’ll eat it, but I’d rather make a vinaigrette-based coleslaw 9 times out of 10.

Despite my ill-regard for coleslaw, I do enjoy pasta salads. Even mayo or mustard-based coleslaws. A few years back my mom found a combination of coleslaws and pasta salads in Taste of Home magazine. She served it at dinner one night and I was apprehensive, to say the least. But, it was pretty decent and pretty delicious. So, we made it again. My aunt declared it “interesting.” But, in the end, everyone took seconds of it, so it must have been okay.

For easy reference and your delicious tastebuds, here is the Macaroni Coleslaw recipe!

Macaroni Coleslaw

Ingredients

1 pkg (7 oz) ring macaroni

1 pkg coleslaw

2 medium onions, finely chopped

2 celery ribs, finely chopped

1 medium cucumber, finely chopped

1 medium green pepper, finely chopped

Dressing:

1 ½ c Miracle Whip light

1/3 c sugar

¼ c cider vinegar

½ tsp salt

¼ tsp pepper

Directions:

Cook macaroni according to package directions; drain and rinse in cold water. Transfer to large bowl; add the coleslaw mix, onions, celery, cucumber, green pepper.

In a small bowl, whisk dressing ingredients. Pour over salad; toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Yield: 16 servings

One thought on “Macaroni Coleslaw

Leave a Reply

