Hat and Bootie Set for the Weebe

As I’ve shared, my sister is about to have a little baby. We are within a month of the due date now, so it could happen any time in the next few weeks. It’s pretty exciting as it will be my first niece or nephew and I cannot wait to meet the Weebe. Through her husband’s side, there are also lots of babies arriving. It should be a fun environment in which the babies can grow into adults.

The baby’s room at her place is all browns (my sister’s favorite color) and greens. People have suspected this means she is having a boy, but I guarantee she does not know what the baby will be. They are waiting for it to be a surprise. I don’t have a strong feeling one way or the other. I never have been a good guesser at the sex of a baby. Although, I have suggested a few names for the baby. My favorites have been Esmeralda and calling her “Messy” or Lazarus and calling him “Lazy.” But, I don’t think those have been my sister and her husband’s favorites yet.

Anyhoo, for Weebe to match her or his nursery, I’ve made a green and brown hat and my first attempt at booties. I think they turned out pretty cute overall. It wasn’t as difficult as I anticipated it being, but every time I try to knit socks, I get bored with it. So, I figured it was time for a smaller version.

I’ve also got a few more knit items which are more gendered, and luckily there are more babies along the way from my friends, so there will be lots of opportunities to give to the new babies.

Using the pattern I mentioned in my post a couple weeks ago, I’ve made both parts of the set now! And they turned out! I can’t wait to see them on Weebe!

By the way, the Cabbage Patch Doll they are resting on is what my sister brought me when she came home from the hospital (I was 2 ½ years old). Our family has a tradition of the new baby bringing a gift for the older sibling(s) to help make having a new one at home more fun! It’s Marcia!

Leave a Reply

