Potato Bread

Bread is something I’ve been wanting to try making a little more often and just haven’t gotten around to. The other day I decided I wanted to make the no-knead bread, and when I looked at the recipe, I saw that it takes a couple days to make. I stopped looking at no-knead recipes and decided to go for something for which I had all the ingredients on hand. In looking through one of my favorite cookbooks – Savoring the Seasons of the Northern Heartland – I came across Potato Bread. With everything on hand to do that, I went ahead and made it.

My only cooking notes are that the bread in the round didn’t rise as much as it spread – maybe I needed more flour? I baked one loaf in the pan and it rose wonderfully. But, it tasted wonderfully. I also used mashed potatoes that had skin on. I might try not to do that again next time…

Potato Bread

Potato Bread

1 pkg active dry yeast
1 Tbsp sugar
½ c warm water
1 c potato-cooked water
1 ½ c mashed potatoes
4-6 c flour
2 tsp salt

In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast and sugar in the warm water and let proof 5 minutes, or until the surface becomes foamy. Add the potato-cooking water, mashed potatoes and 2 c flour. Beat until it is the consistency of mud. Cover and allow the dough to rise 45 minutes.

Taste the dough before adding salt. (The amount will vary depending on how salty the mashed potatoes are). Add enough of the remaining water to make a stiff dough that no longer clings to the sides of the bowl. (The amount of flour will vary depending on the starch in the potatoes).

Turn the dough onto a lightly floured board and knead about 5 minutes. Put the dough in a greased bowl and turn it so the dough is lightly greased; cover the bowl and allow the dough to rise until double in bulk, about 1 hour. Punch the dough down and shape it into 1 or 2 round loaves and place on a lightly greased baking sheet or into 2 lightly greased 9-inch loaf pans. Allow the dough to rise again until doubled, about 45 minutes. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 50 minutes to 1 hour, or until the loaves hollow when tapped. Remove the loaves from the oven and allow to cool on wire racks.

One thought on “Potato Bread

Leave a Reply

