Chocolate Revel Bars

I’ve shared before of my love of cookbooks.  Despite loving to try new recipes and be adventuresome in my cooking, there are some which are just such great standards one should not even begin to consider what else to bring.  One of the family favorites, so described because it is located in our family cookbook, is called Chocolate Revel bars.  Within my immediate family, these are called Funeral Bars, because they are great to bring to a funeral.  I love these bars.  I don’t think I can tell you how often we made these when I was growing up.  In fact, I remember once or twice making the base without eggs for the sole purpose of eating it plain, uncooked.  I hope you also enjoy them.  They are delectable!  I just made them and transported them to Ohio for the baptism!

Chocolate Revel Bars

Chocolate Revel Bars

Oatmeal Mix:

1 c butter or margarine, softened
2 ½ c flour
2 c brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla
2 tsp baking soda
2 1/3 c quick rolled oats
½ tsp salt

Chocolate Mix:

1 ½ c semi-sweet chocolate chips
14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
2 tsp vanilla
2 Tbsp butter or margarine
½ c nuts (optional)

In a large bowl beat margarine.  Add sugar, eggs, vanilla, soda, 1 c flour, and salt.  Beat.  Beat in remaining flour. Stir in oats.  Set aside.

On the stove, cook chocolate, milk, margarine until melted.  Stir in vanilla and nuts.  In a 10×14 pan (approximately), spread 2/3 of oatmeal mixture.  Spread chocolate mixture over this.  Dot top with remaining oatmeal mixture.  Bake at 350 for 25 minutes until golden.  Cool and cut into bars.

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Revel Bars

Leave a Reply

