Anchors Away Quilt

Last spring, my mom and I visited the Calico Hutch quilt shop. When we were there, I saw the clearance table had a quilt kit with fabric that was shades of gray and yellow with a little bit of pink and I loved the fabrics that were in it. No matter what the quilt pattern was, I loved the fabrics themselves. But, my mom couldn’t believe I would want to make a quilt with those colors; they were so far from what her color preferences were.

Well, fast forward 2 months to my birthday and I opened my birthday present from my mom and dad and there was the quilt kit. Despite her thoughts on the quilt kit, it was there in my present. She also picked up the kit in a different colorway for herself.

Fast forward another 2 months and I moved into my new place, finished a project, and that one hadn’t been put away yet, so I started the Anchors Away Quilt. It sewed together really quickly and was a lot of fun to make. I had to adjust to a slightly different technique, and so it was a learning process for me as well. The pattern I have doesn’t call for any borders, but the quilt was 60×80 without them, so a nice sized lap quilt.

I know there are some great quilt alongs going on in the online quilting world at the moment, but I was thinking about doing a quilt along in October for this pattern. But, I want to know there are a few folks who are interested in joining me in this quilt along. Reply and let me know if you’d be up for joining me in making another quilt in October! There are about 5 distinct steps to making this quilt top, so it should be relatively easy to put together.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Anchors Away Quilt

Leave a Reply

