Sugar Cookies

When my sister and her husband got married last summer, we had a grand time. It was truly special for so many different reasons. Not only was she the first of my siblings to get married, but my other sister and I were co-maids-of-honor. There were many parts of the ceremony, reception, and weekend which spoke so distinctly of my sister and her husband. They met through an organization called St. Paul’s Outreach which does Catholic evangelical work on college campuses. Sister and BIL spent their holidays with our family in Minnesota leading up to the wedding, but mostly planned the wedding from afar. There were so many members of the SPO community who came together to make the weekend amazing. I loved the photos from their wedding. By the way — If you are in Michigan (or the Midwest area) and want a great photographer, check out Melanie Reyes Photography! Sister and BIL were able to have folks show the ways they care about them throughout the weekend.

Beyond serving as one of the Maids of Honor, Sister also blessed me and asked me to be part of their ceremony in making the wedding favors. She asked me to make sugar cookies for the wedding. It was my first sugar cookie commissioning. Truth be told, despite the hours of work sugar cookies are, I love making them. Like quilting, I love the process of it. And, I was so fortunate to have my mom help me out. She baked each of the 300+ sugar cookies we made after we’d done a test batch one weekend and determined our shapes. Anyhoo, when the Weebe arrived, I volunteered to make desserts for the baptism. One of the things I knew I wanted to make (without first notifying Sister and BIL) was sugar cookies. And so, I spent a Saturday morning a few weeks ago cutting out crosses and onesies and then icing them with white. I’m not much for using pink and blue, and since the baby’s nursery is green and brown and brown isn’t so appealing on cookies, I went with white, to symbolize the baptism. I think they turned out pretty cute. I will note that when I make sugar cookies for this type of event (both the wedding, baptism, and others), I roll them relatively thick, so they can withstand travel!

sugar cookies

Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups butter, softened
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
5 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
Cream butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (preferably overnight). Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

One thought on “Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

