Oz Quilt

I started putting a few things away and searching for a couple of fabrics, when I came across a couple of charm packs I had tucked away in Oz by Sanae for Moda.  This is a great line and I’m so glad I picked some up when I had a chance.  It’s bright, bold, and perfect for modern quilting.  Using a contrasting white fabric, it’s a great way to show off the fabric, and since charm packs show off the entire line, I love it.
I thought I knew what I wanted to do with the fabric.  I had planned to do a different block than I finished with, so I started by sewing ½ square triangles for all of the blocks.  Then, as I was laying it out, the blocks were much to large and didn’t feature enough of them for me to be pleased.  Instead, I tried a few different layouts and ended up with this one.  I like things that are off-center and as I’ve been working away at the Wonky Log Cabin, this added a bit more structure, but the off-centeredness of the quilt overall allowed me to embrace my wonky attitude as of late.
This would be great for a little girl’s nursery, without screaming pink.  I’ll have to do some finishing up on it.
One thought on “Oz Quilt

Leave a Reply

