October is Rett Syndrome Awareness Month!

Once again, October is here.  For a lot of people, October means a lot of things.  For our family, it almost always means harvest.  This is the time when the hard work of the farmers comes to fruition and they are out in the fields.  This started last weekend when I drove home and knew the first question I would be asked was, “Were there a lot of people out in the field?”  Coming from a family where the business supports the work of the farmers, this is something which always is factored into decision-making.

Beyond harvest, October is also Rett syndrome awareness month.  Last year I shared information about my second annual fundraiser for the International Rett Syndrome Association and the Research into Reality campaign.  This year, despite being in a new environment and with new coworkers, I’m continuing my efforts and having the third annual fundraiser.  At the end of the month, I’ll have anyone who wants to contribute $15 over for a fundraiser around this year’s theme: Soup’s On for Rett Syndrome.

Rett syndrome has gotten a little more exposure over the past couple of years because of awareness which has been raised.  You might be noticing PSAs on your local news stations and affiliates around Rett syndrome.  Celebrities such as Clint Black and Julia Roberts have been avid supporters of the cause over the past ten years because of personal relationships with some of the amazing women who have Rett syndrome.

I, of course, have gained insights because of my sister and her experiences.  I remember when I was in junior high and Rett syndrome was relatively unknown (which it still is).  I had gone to a conference in St. Louis and the IRSA board was having their meeting in the same hotel I was having a meeting.  I crashed their party and got to talk to some of the founders and supporters who have long helped to raise awareness about the syndrome.

I haven’t been able to do as much as I would like to in order to support the cause, but sharing here and doing my fundraiser help raise awareness, which continues to be a primary focus for folks who work with girls with Rett syndrome and families.

Thus, for now, I share some resources to help you learn more about Rett syndrome.  I’ll update about the recipes and such I use for the fundraiser at the end of the month, but I hope you take some time to explore Rett syndrome and ask any questions you have!

One thought on “October is Rett Syndrome Awareness Month!

Leave a Reply

