Apple Pie

Last weekend I had some friends over for dinner.  We were looking to eat some delicious food, so after starting with the black bean and corn salad and the squash enchiladas, which were greatly enjoyed, I made an apple pie.  My sister and her husband gave me an apple corer, slicer, peeler a few years ago for Christmas and while it is super easy to use, clean up, and makes cooking wonderful, I often forget about it.  This day, however, I remembered.
I had initially intended to make Pear Pie.  I have an absolutely delicious Cardamom Pear Pie recipe I’ve modified over the years.  The only problem is, it requires fresh pears, and pears take a few days to ripen on the counter top, so when I decided to do this Friday night for Saturday’s meal, I had to make a change of plans. Debating what to do, I went with apple pie.  Why? Lots of reasons.
Apples are in season right now.  I love apples so much, and so making apple pie was at the top of the list of delicious snacks to make.  I know I should make my own crust and have done so successfully in the past, last Saturday was chaotic enough I chose not to take the time to do so.  Instead, I purchased a couple Pillsbury pie crusts at the grocery store and brought them home.
After rolling out the crust, I used a really simple method of making apple pie.  I sliced, peeled, and cored my apples.  Then, I layered the apples followed by a round of a sugar mixture.  I topped it with another pie crust and found some caramel ice cream to make along side it.
Apple Pie Recipe
  • 2 pie crusts — your favorite recipe or store-bought
  • 6-8 Granny Smith Apples
  • ¾ c sugar, heaping
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp lemon rind
  • 2 Tbsp margarine
Peel, slice, and core your apples.  Separately, mix together sugar, cinnamon and lemon rind in a bowl.
Lay one pie crust in the bottom of your pie pan.  Layer one layer of apples.  Sprinkle with sugar mixture.  Repeat until you are out of apples.  Apples should minimally be equally layered with the top of the pie pan.  They will cook down, so I recommend heaping pretty high.  Layer the other crust on top, crimp the two crusts together and cut holes in the top to vent it.
Bake at 350 for 1- 1 1/2 hours.
Leave a Reply

