Harvest Chicken Soup

For the fundraiser, I made a variety of soups.  Did you know this week was Chicken Soup week?  I like celebrating random food holidays in a lot of different ways.
Anyhoo, one of the soups I made is from a favorite restaurant of mine in St. Paul, Cafe Latte.  I found it when I used to live a mile from it, but I also had some experiences when I had a garden share a few years ago when I didn’t know how to use all of my vegetables.  One of the vegetables I received and found particularly challenging was rutabaga.  Who cooks with rutabaga?  I assumed it was just one of those vegetables people grew to take up space.  But, in this soup it is quite all right.  I wouldn’t change it for anything, I don’t think…
Harvest Chicken Soup
1 lb chicken breast
2 c cooked butternut squash
⅓ c barley
1 c yellow onion, diced
1 c carrots, peeled and sliced
1 c rutabaga, peeled and cut in 1 in cubes
½ c frozen corn kernels
½ tsp minced garlic
12 c chicken stock
¼ c watercress, chopped
In a large stockpot, add 12 c chicken stock and cook chicken, barley, onions, carrots, rutabaga, corn, and garlic.  Cook until barley is tender (35-40 min).  Remove chicken and cut into julienne strips.  Add chicken strips, squash, and watercress and simmer 5-10 minutes.  Salt and pepper to taste.
Leave a Reply

