Malcolm and Kelley McDowell’s Pink Rigatoni

A few weeks ago I invited my friend Kara over for dinner.  I am trying to practice using my cookbooks and explore recipes a little bit more.  One of the cookbooks that has been in my collection, but which I had yet to try a recipe was the New York Times Cookbook.  In looking through the cookbook, I wanted to try to make something where I had most of the ingredients.  I used a Tisdale Cabaret Sauvignon for the wine and it added great flavor.  I really enjoyed the recipe, wish I would have taken photos, but didn’t.  I plan to make it again soon.

Malcolm and Kelley McDowell’s Pink Rigatoni

10 cloves garlic, roughly chopped

6 tablespoons olive oil

10 to 12 plum tomatoes, quartered (canned may be used off-season)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

1/2 cup red wine

1 pound rigatoni

3/4 stick salted butter

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 teaspoon sugar

Over medium heat, saute garlic in oil till brown (but no darker). Add the tomatoes, salt and pepper and saute for 30 minutes till the liquid begins to evaporate. Pour in the wine and cook an additional 20-30 minutes till thickened, then remove from heat and let stand for 10 minutes.

Boil the rigatoni till al dente.

Fold the butter, Parmesan and sugar into the sauce until it turns the famous pink. Dump in the rigatoni, mix and serve.

Leave a Reply

