Cranberry Feta Pinwheels

I love cranberries.  I love their tart flavors and the way they provide a different fruit option for part of the year.  Some of it might have to do with taking journalism classes in college and having a faculty member who spent half, if not the whole, semester with us writing press releases for Ocean Spray and the cranberry world.  For some reason, they have always stuck with me.  In fact, I think of jellied cranberries as a big treat.  Who does that?  I never think to open a can for myself, but  if we’re having a family meal and they get opened, I am delighted by it.

Back in the initial Pinterest days, when we were looking for holiday snacks and what we could bring, cranberries were on the list of things which stand out as particularly holiday-like.  With today being the Superbowl, folks might be looking for something they can bring which add a different take on meals as well.  Might I suggest exploring the Cranberry Feta Pinwheel?  Some places I’ve lived have had tortilla roll-ups in different formats be a staple of the cuisine.  Although Iowa doesn’t seem to be one of those places, I wouldn’t hesitate to bring these to a Superbowl gathering tonight.

I found the original recipe on food.com through Pinterest, as I shared.  I don’t think we modified it a whole lot, although we did try freezing one of the roll-ups for 3-4 days before cutting it.  It was slightly soggy, but not so much that it we couldn’t serve it, so in a pinch, you could consider doing that.  Generally, though, the tortillas should be spread and cut on the day you are serving them.

Cranberry Feta Pinwheels

Cranberry Feta Pinwheels
1 package dried cranberries
1 container cream cheese spread
1 c crumbled feta cheese
¼ c chopped green onion
4 large tortillas – I recommend spinach if using this seasonally, but any color/flavor will work.

Combine all ingredients except tortillas, mixing well.  Spread the mixture between four tortillas.  Roll tightly (watch for air bubbles) and wrap in plastic.  Refrigerate for at least one hour.  Cut into slices of your preferred width.

One thought on “Cranberry Feta Pinwheels

Leave a Reply

