Western Broccoli Salad

Have you ever experienced one of those moments when you realize that something has entered into your diet significantly?  Over the past month I’ve realized that I’m eating a lot more broccoli.  A lot more.  My iron levels must be through the roof.  I have been eating broccoli at lunch daily from the salad bar at work.  But, when I get breakfast in the cafeteria, a lot of times this includes bringing a bowl full of broccoli down to my office to snack on throughout the day.  There have even been a couple of times when I get to the end of the day and realize all three of my meals have included broccoli in some form.

Trying to find a different way to incorporate broccoli into my diet, I came across this recipe, which also uses ranch dressing.  Some would say ranch is the ketchup of our generation.  So, I searched for a recipe which incorporated broccoli and ranch and came across this recipe from Taste of Home magazine.

Western Broccoli Salad

4 cups fresh broccoli florets

1 medium tomato, chopped

1 (16 ounce) can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

3/4 cup chopped sweet onion

1 cup shredded reduced-fat Cheddar cheese

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup fat-free ranch salad dressing

Place 1 in. of water and broccoli in a skillet; bring to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Cover and remove from the heat; let stand for 3-4 minutes or until crisp-tender. Drain and pat dry. In a serving bowl, toss the broccoli, tomato, beans, onion, cheese and salt. Drizzle with dressing; toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate until serving.

Leave a Reply

