New Recipe Tuesday

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions.  It’s never really been my thing.  I think if someone wants to start something, start it on a random Tuesday, Thursday, or Friday.  Change patterns when it works to change them and waiting until the weekend, the next month, or a new start to the year rarely works for me.  Instead, I have often tried to increase a skill over the course of a year.  The last few years it’s been quilting, knitting, knife skills, or other things.  This year as I was thinking about the things I hoped to do throughout the year, I felt like I was in a cooking rut.  So, I decided that at least once a month I was going to intentionally make a new dish.
Since I live alone, a new dish often lasts the entire week. But, I was telling a friend about my plan regarding this and she decided to join me in this adventure for the time-being.  So, once a month, and generally on a Tuesday, we take turns cooking, and then eat together and watch Glee & New Girl.  It gives us that nice plan for socializing and we get to try new dishes.
So far, we’ve made Chicken Parmesan, Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas, Gorgonzola Cream Pasta, and other entities.  The dishes have all been winners, but I anticipate there might be a date in the future when we end up eating cereal or grilled cheese because something doesn’t turn out.
Have you been trying new recipes this year?  Or made New Year’s Resolutions that you’ve stuck to?  Do you have a dish I should add to the New Recipe Tuesday rotation?
3 thoughts on “New Recipe Tuesday

Leave a Reply

