Honey Lime Chicken Sandwiches

I’ve recently shared my love of Cooking Light, but I also have a love of Rachael Ray.  While her recipes aren’t always the healthiest options, they do tend to be pretty easy to make and a great way for me to learn easy ways to use new ingredients.  Her Honey Lime Chicken sandwiches are not necessarily one of those recipes which highlight a new ingredient, although I started making this recipe as I was learning to add fresh herbs into my cooking.  Using cilantro, perhaps my favorite fresh herb, this makes a great grilled chicken – how I wish I had a grill! – and this chicken is delicious on salads, between two pieces of bread, or other ways.  I imagine it would add some oomph to the Honey Lime Chicken Enchiladas I made a few months ago.  Do you have a favorite grilled chicken recipe that is especially delicious in your mind?

Grilled Honey Lime Chicken Sandwiches
1 lime, juiced
2 tablespoons honey
1 rounded teaspoon cumin
A handful cilantro (about 1/2 tablespoon), finely chopped
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (EVOO), canola oil, or corn oil
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (6-8 ounces each)
1 teaspoon grill seasoning blend or coarse salt and pepper
Combine first five ingredients in a small bowl. Sprinkle chicken with seasoning blend or salt and pepper. Coat chicken in dressing and set aside for 10 minutes.

Grill chicken on an indoor grill pan for 6-7 minutes on each side or pan fry over medium-high heat in a large nonstick skillet, uncovered, 6-7 minutes per side.

Slice chicken breasts on an angle and pile meat on roll bottoms. Top with lettuce, tomato, red onion and sliced avocado. Spread salsa on roll tops as a condiment.

Leave a Reply

