Chocolate Chip Bars

There are some recipes which have a history with family.  When I was younger and learning to bake, the very first recipe I learned was for chocolate chip bars.  It’s a recipe I don’t go back to often enough, but it is tasty and just complicated enough that I need to pay attention when making it.  A couple weeks ago I needed to take some bars to work to say thank you to my colleagues for their hard work and efforts, so I looked at the ingredients I had readily accessible.  This recipe quickly met the needs for what I could do.

I took the pan to work and gave it to them there, so I didn’t get after photos of the bars, but here’s what they looked like going in:

 

Chocolate Chip Bars

Part A:

2 c flour

2 c brown sugar

1/2 c margarine

Mix “A” ingredients and reserve 1 cup.  Add to mixture Part B:

1 tsp soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

1 c milk

1 egg

Mix and pour into greased 9×13 pan.

Add 1 c chocolate chips to reserve cup of “A.”  Sprinkle over batter.  bake at 325 degrees for 35 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Bars

Leave a Reply

