Canning Pickles!

Last weekend when I was away, celebrating my friend Christine’s fabulous birthday, we went to the Omaha farmer’s market where I bought some dill pickle cucumbers!  I like pickles and have wanted to try making them for a long time.  But this time was my first opportunity to try making them.  Looking at a lot of different recipes, I found a few that I put together in different ways.

I bought 25 different cucumbers of a decent size and to get them into the four quart jars I had available, I needed to quarter most of them into spears.  I didn’t have quite enough spices to do all four of them, so I tried adding a little bit of lemon zest to one of the jars – I’ll be intrigued to see how they taste.  From what I can tell, it takes about 3 weeks to know how they turn out, so they have a chance to brine.  I’ll let you know what I think.

Dill Pickles.jpg

The basic recipe:

Dill Pickles

 

½ c salt
2 qt water
2 qt vinegar

Boil on the stovetop until salt has dissolved.  While this is coming to a boil, put 1 Tbsp dill, 2 cloves of garlic, 4-5 whole peppercorns and a dash of crushed red pepper in the bottom of each qt jar.  Fill jar with cucumbers.  Add 1 Tbsp dill on the top of the jar.  After the vinegar mixture is made, pour on top of the cucumbers, leaving ½ inch of headspace at the top of the jars.  Seal with a waterbath for 10 minutes.

Happy Sunday!

One thought on “Canning Pickles!

Leave a Reply

