Potato Chip Cookie Bars

Potato Chip Cookie Bars

Some days I feel like this blog has become all about bars.  Thus far I’ve featured Chocolate Chip Bars, Raspberry White Chocolate Bars, Rhubarb Bars, O’Henry Bars, Rice Krispy Cereal Bars, Cereal Bars, Lemon Bars, Chocolate Revel Bars, Strawberry Jam Bars, and these are just the highlights.  It’s been fun to try all these different bars, share those which are family favorites, recreating what I hope to be comfort food for some of my friends, and bringing in sweet treats for some of the great team members with whom I get to work on a regular basis.

A few weeks ago I brought in Potato Chip Cookie Bars, a nice sweet and salty potato chip bar.  I found the recipe in the Catholic Daughters of the Americas Cookbook from the chapter from Milford, Iowa: Court Our Lady of Lasalette 1585.  I had an unopened bag of potato chips lying around from one gathering or another and when I saw this recipe, I was intrigued just enough to modify the recipe into bars and bake it for work.  Kathryn Woodley submitted this recipe, which I later modified to make it slightly more liquidy and ready to raise.

Potato Chip Cookie Bars

½ lb margarine (2 sticks)

½ c sugar

½ tsp vanilla

½ c chopped nuts

¾ c crushed potato chips

1 ½ c flour

1 egg

1 tsp baking soda

2 Tbsp milk

Cream sugar and margarine, add vanilla and egg.  Stir in nuts and chips.  Add flour, milk, and baking soda.  Press into a 9×13 pan and bake 20 minutes at 325 degrees.  Shake with powdered sugar.

In retrospect, I wish I had chocolate chips on hand to melt down and drizzle over the top over the powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

