Avocado, Black Bean, and Corn Salad

For Christine’s birthday a couple weeks ago, we spent time at the farmer’s market and went out to the lake, and it was great.  I’ve already shared that.  One of the things I have yet to share is that Christine’s friends are all extraordinary cooks, but even more so, Christine is a gourmet cook herself.  On Saturday morning she insisted on cooking in a variety of ways, but one which I am less comfortable with, but hope to emulate her at doing – making food without a recipe.  Perhaps because of my efforts at baking, I am often less inclined to use anything other than a recipe because precise measurements are required.  But, here we went, making up recipes as we went.  And, I knew what I was doing (for the most part).  I remembered what needed to be added, and went by taste for different flavor profiles.

While I was working on a cucumber salad and nursing some injuries, Christine was mixing up a delightful Avocado, Corn, and Black Bean Salad.  I have forgotten how avocado is a great binding ingredient, in ways that historically mayonnaise or other ingredients would be.  I think I tried to catch most of the things she put in the salad, and so here’s what I could see from her work:

Avocado, Corn and Black Bean Salad

2 avocados

2 tomatoes

1 onion

1 can corn

1 can black beans

Cilantro

Lime juice

Chop all and mix together delicately, so as to not mash the avocado.  Add salt to taste.

Leave a Reply

