Festive Salad

It’s August, which means it is tomato season.  Besides zucchinis, tomatoes are coming out our ears here in Iowa.  It seems like every day there is a new option for some recipe involving tomatoes to be used.  One of these days when I have the right amount of them, I’m going to try making ketchup.  For now, however, I am sharing a recipe known as Festive Salad.  It’s one of the strange recipes which I would not imagine would taste delicious, but it actually is a great little salad.  I would encourage you to try it, if you have the ingredients on hand.  This sweet mixture of grapes and tomatoes, without added sugar, is a delicious way to use up the summer vegetables which arrive and get your veggies in!  I’m not sure where the original recipe came from.  I know I got it from my mom, and I think it was a Weight Watchers recipe once upon a time…

festive salad

Festive Salad

4 cups red seedless grapes (chopped in half)
1 1/2 pints grape tomatoes (chopped in half)
1 orange or yellow bell pepper
1 red bell pepper
1 small red or yellow onion (or less)
1 tsp dried basil (or use 1 tbsp chopped fresh basil)
3 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tbsp ++ 1 tsp ex vir olive oil
salt and pepper to taste (like lots of pepper)

Chop all ingredients and add seasonings. chill. Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Festive Salad

  1. Pingback: Blender Salsa |

Leave a Reply

