Kale Chips

I have been getting lots of different options from my CSA lately.  I’ve been experimenting with eggplant, reigniting my love of zucchini, and exploring onions and garlic in new ways.  The other day I sautéed these items together and added some peach at the end to caramelize and add a sweetness.  It did not quite turn out how I had hoped – I think I needed a more salty seasoning salt on the zucchini and eggplant to balance the sweetness of the peaches.

However, one thing I made with another ingredient with which I had not frequently cooked – kale, turned out a little bit better. I am still figuring out kale.  It is a tougher green vegetable, but one which can be delicious.  I had seen kale chips hitting Pinterest earlier in the year and I decided last week to finally break down and make them.  They were good, but I used too much seasoning salt, which I had even been warned about.  Maybe using too little seasoning salt on the zucchini is what inspired me to sprinkle too much – who knows.

I used steak shaker, my go-to seasoning, but I think a variety of flavors could enhance these “chips”

Kale Chips

4-5 kale leaves

Olive oil

Seasoning salt

Heat oven to 400.  Wash and dry kale leaves.  Tear into medium-sized pieces (they shrink like shrinkydinks while baking, so ½ the size of a playing card?) and drizzle with olive oil.  Toss to mix and sprinkle with seasoning salt.  Bake 8-13 minutes.

I baked mine a little too long – the edges were brown and tasted burnt.  Ideally, you won’t do the same.

Leave a Reply

