Pineapple Oatmeal Cookies

A few weeks ago I wanted to make some cookies and was exploring different options to make.  I’m in the process of planning this year’s Rett syndrome fundraiser and was looking through some cookbooks.  I decided to explore the family cookbook and was different options for recipes and came across one from Sister Francois, my great-aunt.  I only remember meeting Sister Francois a couple of times.  However, her skills as a fantastic baker continue to live on in both family lore and reality.  In looking at the family tree in the beginning of the book, it appears she passed away when I was about 7 years old.  I remember when I was younger going to visit Sister Francois and everyone sharing stories about her baking skills.  There are several cookie, cake, and bar recipes in the cookbook which originate from her.  I also know that at one point when I went to see her I came home and decided I would become a nun, because at my young age, I believed that one had to be nun to bake like she did.  For several reasons, I have begun to know that this is not the case and decided not to become a nun.  However, this doesn’t stop me from trying her recipes every once in awhile.

On this occasion, I decided to go with Pineapple Oatmeal Cookies.  It sounded like a different kind of cookie recipe.  But as I’ve continued to look through old church cookbooks, I’ve found a lot of recipes for Pineapple Oatmeal cookies.  I’m still guessing that most people have not made them, or at least not made them recently.  Nonetheless, here’s the recipe:

Pineapple Oatmeal Cookies.jpg

Pineapple Oatmeal Cookies

½ c white sugar
½ c brown sugar
½ c shortening
1 egg
9 oz can crushed pineapple
½ c chopped nuts
1 ½ c oatmeal
1 1/3 c flour
½ tsp soda
½ tsp salt
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg

Cream shortening and sugars; add egg and beat well.  Add other ingredients and mix well.  Drop by teaspoon on baking sheet.  Bake at 350 degrees until lightly brown on the edges.  Makes about 4 dozen.

Cook’s Tip: After you’ve opened the can of pineapple, drain off some of the juice.  Batter should be fairly stiff or else add a little more flour.

One thought on “Pineapple Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

