Chocolate Raspberry Crumb Bars

The past few months have been a little bit crazy in regards to me taking time to write about my cooking adventures. I have nearly given up on crafting adventures and running has gone both directions – consistent or lacking consistency. Alas, last weekend I came to a point where I had baking problem after baking problem and nothing went how it was supposed to go. It was not just one baking fail, but multiple fails. I’ll write more about those adventures gone bad over the next few days, but here’s a baking not-fail. I made a recipe I found a few years ago at the holiday season. Chocolate Raspberry Crumb Bars. I don’t think I knew the deliciousness of the combination of chocolate and raspberry until I made these bars. And now, I love it.

Chocolate Raspberry Crumb Bars

Chocolate Raspberry Crumb Bars
1 c butter/margarine
2 c flour
½ c brown sugar
¼ tsp salt
2 c chocolate chips
1 can sweetened condensed milk
1/3 c seedless raspberry jam
½ c chopped nuts (opt)

In a large mixing bowl, beat butter until creamy. Beat in flour, sugar, salt until crumbly. With floured finders, press 1 ¾ c crumb mixture onto the bottom of a greased 9×13 pan. Reserve remaining mixture. Bake base at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. In a small, heavy duty saucepan, combine 1 c chocolate chips and sweetened condensed milk. Cook over low heat, stirring until smooth. Spread over hot crust. If desired, stir nuts into reserve mixture. Sprinkle over chocolate filling. Drop teaspoonfuls of raspberry jam over crumb mixture.

Sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until center is set.

Leave a Reply

