Pear Stuffed Acorn Squash

A couple days ago I talked about the Rosemary Garlic Pork Chops I made a couple months ago for New Recipe Tuesday. To accompany the pork chops, I used some more of the squash we had at the end of the season. We really enjoyed the recipe and I made it again over the holidays when I was home with my family. In gearing up for a Real Food Challenge I am doing with a couple of colleagues throughout the month of January, I am reminded of this recipe, which is about as clean as one can get. The rest of this month will have a few recipes which are reminiscent of the baking I did in preparation for the Christmas holidays, but then I’ll start sharing some of the highlights of our Real Food Challenge.
Right now, this is the recipe for Pear Stuffed Squash, which was originally found on the ZenBelly blog – full of great recipes – and an excellent accompaniment to the pork chops we ate. It also tastes great with turkey, which I determined over the last couple of weeks. I don’t have any pictures other than the hollowed out squash, but if you’re looking for some other photos of the recipe, head over to the original recipe posting. The recipe is for 2 servings, but can easily be adjusted as needed for more individuals.

Pear Stuffed Squashpear stuffed acorn squash
1 acorn squash
1 pear
Cinnamon
2 tsp butter
Cut squash in half. Remove seeds and leave open. Carefully and thinly slice pears, removing seeds as you go. Put half of each pear inside the hollowed out squash. Place 1 tsp of butter in each half and sprinkle with cinnamon.
Bake for 20 minutes at 425 degrees, remove from oven and baste with butter. Roast for an additional 50-75 minutes.

Leave a Reply

