Macaroni and Cheese!

Just before we started winter break, we had a snowstorm. Well, we had what would have been a snowstorm in Minnesota, but in where I live in Iowa, it ended up being half snowstorm, half ice storm. When I went outside, it was sleeting and gross. We even had work called off for the next day. Anyhoo, a couple of colleagues and I are planning to do Real Food in the month of January, eating less processed food than the world expects us to eat. We used the day to clear out some things in our cupboards, and one of my colleagues posted on Facebook that he was eating Kraft Macaroni and Cheese.

Since he posted it, I have been craving Macaroni and Cheese. So, I decided to post about some homemade Macaroni and Cheese I had made. This recipe uses Velveeta, which I fully recognize is far from real food. It is a processed cheese spread. It even says so on the box. But, when I try to make mac and cheese without it, I have not been able to match the creaminess I expect from the dish, so this is my go-to recipe. If you have found something that works better, I’d love to hear it – just not until at least February, since I’m not going to make my own pasta this month!

I don’t recall where this recipe came from, but I do have a photo I’ve taken of the food – which is a little something.

macaroni and cheeseFour Cheese Macaroni
1 Tbsp vegetable oil
16 oz elbow macaroni – I prefer using jumbo macaroni, if you can find it
9 Tbsp butter
2 c shredded 4-cheese blend (or ½ c of 4 different kinds of cheese)
1 ½ c half and half (I’ve used fat free in the past)
8 oz of Velveeta, cubed
2 eggs, beaten
¼ tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
Boil pasta 8-10 minutes or until al dente, return to pot. Melt 8 Tbsp of butter, stir into the macaroni. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Add the half and half, 1 ½ c cheese, Velveeta, eggs to macaroni; mix and season with salt and pepper. Transfer to a lightly greased 2 ½ quart casserole. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and 1 Tbsp butter. Bake for 35 minutes or until hot and bubbly around the edges. Serve.

Leave a Reply

