Roasted Squash

I do not think I have shared much about my family over the past few months, but my sister spent a lot of time in the hospital between early October and early December. We think it was 26 days, if we add them all up. She was at three different hospitals, and is home and healthy at this point. As a result of her different procedures, however, she is on a soft food diet. This meant that my other sister and I ended up bringing home different sweets to eat during the holidays, as Brenda is also sugar-restricted for the time being. And, as we planned each of the different meals, we planned to eat soft foods. Beyond the Pear Stuffed Acorn Squash recipe I shared a few days ago, we ate a lot of squash. I even joked that it felt like Iron Chef and for each meal the secret ingredient was squash.

I made this recipe two different times throughout the week when I was home. The first time it cooked great and the second time I baked at a higher temperature, which caused the squash to burn a bit. Thinking about some of the different tastes I enjoy and seasonings which have been part of my squash recipes, and looking to see what was in the cupboards at my parents’ house, I made this recipe.

roasted squashRoasted Squash
1 butternut squash
Olive oil
Coarse ground black pepper
Sea salt
Chili powder
Thyme
Curry powder
Peel and dice the butternut squash. Line a baking sheet with foil. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Drizzle the squash with oil. Sprinkle with pepper, salt, chili powder, and thyme. Then lightly sprinkle with curry powder.
Bake for 1 hour, turning squash halfway through.

One thought on “Roasted Squash

Leave a Reply

