Breakfast Hash

Over Christmas, we often find a need to use up several different leftovers in order to make room for the big meals we make with all-too-much frequency. One morning, after making the roasted squash recipe I shared a couple of days ago, we had part of a squash which had not fit on my pan for roasting. I also found some leftover ham, parts of red and green peppers, and so I decided to make up a breakfast hash to serve three of us who needed to eat breakfast and wanted to get rid of a few things in the refrigerator.

breakfast hashBreakfast Hash
½ onion, chopped
½ green pepper, chopped
½ red pepper, chopped
1/3 butternut squash, cubed
Ham, diced
Nutmeg
Salt
Pepper
Thyme
Cinnamon
Melt butter in a sauté pan on top of the stove, at low- to medium heat. Once butter has melted, add the onion, caramelizing. Once the onion is caramelized, add peppers to soften. Add ham to start melting the fat in the ham, and add the squash to begin cooking. Cook about 20 minutes, stirring on occasion, until the squash is cooked-through. Sprinkle about ¼ tsp of each seasoning at the end of cooking. In retrospect, I would not use the thyme, as the savory flavor in my breakfast food was not appreciated, by either my parents or me. I’ll keep tweaking this recipe and post updates in the future!

Leave a Reply

