Turkey Stock

A couple of days ago I posted about the Turkey we made on Christmas day this year. While I made the turkey, my dad had been dreaming of stock, so he made stock. Delicious. Since stock isn’t necessarily a standard cooking item in our house, I took note of the steps he took and wanted to share a little bit about what you might do with a leftover turkey carcass.
Turkey Stock
Grab the biggest stock pot you have. After carving the turkey, add it to the pot. Take as many of the vegetables left in the bottom of the roasting pan and put them in the pot as well. Add water and any bouillon you have in the cupboards you want to get rid of (the leftover turkey ingredients will enhance the flavor of the broth. Let it simmer on the stovetop for a few hours (we played some Sequence and Rummikub while the broth was going). I think we ended up making several quarts of broth – I made a soup for us while I was still home and then brought some frozen broth back with me and left some with my parents.

Leave a Reply

