Pizza on the Grill

sausage pizzaAs I’ve mentioned in my last few posts, I have a roommate, Minda, who recently moved in.  Last Friday night we got together with our friends Nancy and Kara for a little women’s gathering.  We discussed intentional living environments, the value of empowering women, the trials and tribulations of working on campus and deciding to leave.  It was a motivational and wonderful experience.  And, of course, we ate good food.

Earlier in the week Minda and I had been talking about wanting to make pizza.  Between that and having one of my mom’s friends ask if I had ever made cauliflower crust pizza, we decided to make a couple of pizzas and try things out.  One of the members of the group is gluten intolerant, and we all try to mostly eat real foods, so this was a good chance to explore a little bit outside of our regular thoughts on pizza and try some different recipes out.

cauliflower crust pizzaThe first recipe we decided to try was the cauliflower crust pizza.  It was a bit of a fail.  In part, it was a fail not in taste, so I think there is a future for it.  I had looked up several different cauliflower crust recipes and decided to go with one lacking flour.  After exploring these options, I decided on the recipe from Eat. Drink. Smile.  I think this recipe was a fail in large part because I tried to make it work on the grill.  The crust seemed to just need some more time to cook and a more regular cooking environment than one in which I was constantly opening and closing the grill lid due to our other pizza being cooked.  I plan to try the crust again in the oven, and making sure to grease the foil really well or cook it directly on the pan.  We used the toppings described on this Budget Bytes  and the flavor of everything was really good.  The sauce is pretty rich, so know that if you decide to try this white sauce, but overall, I think I just need to tweak the recipe and my cooking methods some.  We only put mushrooms on half of it, but it tasted great!

chebe pizza crust mixThe second crust we used was a store-bought mix called chebe gluten free pizza crust..  These pizzas turned out delicious.  We began by splitting it into two crusts and cooking them on the grill.  We topped it with this organic pizza sauce, added Italian sausage and red pepper, and fresh basil, along with some cheese.  I could have eaten the whole pizza myself.  I would definitely repeat this process and maybe take the toppings from the other pizza on this crust.

grilled fruitFor dessert, we grilled peaches and pineapple, which was a nice sweet treat to end the meal.  I wish this week would continue to be less humid so I felt like we could be out on the porch again more frequently, but it doesn’t seem to be happening, so we’ll have to ignore that for now.  Maybe in the evenings when it cools off.

At this moment, Kara has left our little town and is preparing to go off and work on her doctoral degree.  But, Nancy came for dinner again on Friday.  We made a taco salad.  More recipes coming in the near future 🙂

Leave a Reply

