Squash and Turkey Sandwiches

Sometimes in the summer, it can be hard to help students to stay motivated with their co-curricular experiences.  Either the positionally-correct people are not present, or its difficult to get buy-in for the members of the group to participate.  One of the projects the Greek Council President has decided to continue is the Constitution review.  The lovely and wonderful members of the community had increased buy-in when it meant they didn’t need to cook food for themselves, so I invited them over for dinner.  With all sorts of different dietary needs abounding, I made a semi-feast for the 10 or so students who came over on Monday night.  For some of them, it was a chance to eat something that they did not have to cook themselves, with no dining services being offered on campus through the summer.

I served a few things about which I have previously posted:

In an effort to cook through some of my cookbooks, I had planned to also make a Roasted Potato Salad.  But, my weekend time efforts took me to purchasing store-made potato salad.  I had also hoped to make Cereal Bars and Rhubarb Bars, but decided to buy cookies at the store as well.  I had a lot of writing to do for articles on which I am working at the moment.

I did make one other family favorite: Hot Turkey Sandwiches and try a new recipe: Spicy Butternut Squash Skillet.  I had a variety of students either attending or possibly attending in terms of dietary needs.  Vegetarian, Jewish, and other needs made it so that I wanted to have a large variety.  I also made the recently frequently cooked Grilled Vegetables with zucchini, summer squash, red peppers, mushrooms.

Here are the recipes used:

Spicy Butternut Squash Skillet (from Clean Eating Adventures):

  • 1/2 diced butternut squash (cooked)
  • 1 c quinoa (cooked)
  • ¼ c cilantro
  • ¼ c diced onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • Sriracha — about ¼ c
  • 1 c corn
  • 1 c black beans
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder

Heat oil in skillet and saute onions and garlic.  Add squash and brown it.  Sprinkle with chili powder and cumin.  Add quinoa to brown.  Add corn and beans.  Finish with sriracha.  Top with cilantro.

20130617_173011

 

Hot Turkey Sandwiches

  • 6 c turkey/chicken, cooked and shredded or diced
  • 1 c mayonnaise
  • ½ c cooked green pepper
  • 1 ½ c chopped celery
  • ¾ c chopped onion
  • 1 can cream of mushroom/chicken/celery soup
  • 3 c grated cheese

Mix together and heat at 400 degrees for 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

