My Dad and Mustard BBQ Sauce

Happy Father’s Day!
With today being Father’s Day, I thought I’d write a bit about my dad and share a recipe he was tweaking a few weeks ago.  Last month my cousin celebrated her wedding and several members of the family gathered together to celebrate her wedding.  It was great to see some cousins, aunts, uncles, and other relatives and spend time together.

Later in the weekend, we spent some time doing what has become our latest family pastime.  We spent some time with the grills.  Over the course of the last fifteen years, my dad has become a true grilling aficionado.  With a variety of grills to choose from – my dad has begun to foray into BBQ sauce as well, to complement the work he is doing on the grill.  As of late, this has evolved into an interest in mustard barbecue sauces.

It shouldn’t have surprised me, then, that when I was home for the wedding, all of the sudden Dad was in the kitchen working on a little concoction.  A little while later, he brought me a taste of his mustard barbecue sauce.  Those of you from the South will probably think I ruined the sauce, but I suggested adding some honey to it to cut down on the vinegar in the sauce.

Using a recipe from a cookbook I’d given his years ago, my dad made “Similar to Maurice’s Carolina Mustard Barbecue Sauce” from Peace, Love, and Barbecue.  I’m not sure who Maurice is or why we love his barbecue sauce, but it seems that his recipe is worth replicating, and I thought it was pretty good.  Who knows, I might even make a batch at home myself J

Similar to Maurice’s Carolina Mustard Barbecue SauceHoney Mustard

1 ½ c prepared yellow mustard (you should use French’s)

7 Tbsp brown sugar

8 Tbsp tomato paste

5 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

½ tsp cayenne

½ tsp ground black pepper

½ tsp granulated garlic

Whisk all the ingredients together in a saucepan over medium heat.  Simmer until the sugar is dissolved.  Don’t overcook.  Remove from the heat and let cool.  Pour into a sterilized glass jar.  Refrigerate between uses.

Makes about 2 cups.

 

If you were wondering, my modification suggests adding 5 Tbsp honey.

 

Leave a Reply

