Brussels Sprouts Salad with Apple

Last week I posted on Facebook about how grateful I am to my parents.  Last weekend, they came down to spend some time with me and I was going to make dinner for them and have a relaxing weekend.  Instead, it was raining, so I didn’t get to try out the smoker I was planning to test.  Instead, I grilled on the gas grill (uh-oh, that’s two grills.  I guess I am my father’s daughter) Saturday night and on Sunday I made them work hard for their meal.

My dad and I went to the hardware store and rented the extension ladder to end all extension ladders and he climbed up on my room to clean out my gutters.  They were a MESS.  It cannot be exaggerated enough what a mess they were.  It was horrible.  I have no excuse for having neglected them, except that I don’t love the idea of spending money.  But, while he was doing that, I was testing out the smoker by making Alton Brown’s Party Meatloaf – I’ll post about that in a couple days.  I started weeding, my mom spent the time he was on the roof praying he remained safe, and then we moved onto trimming back bushes, trimming up trees, and basically getting things in order.

There was so much to do that even though they had planned to leave around 2:00, they didn’t leave until 4:00 and the place was much improved.  My mom shared her secret recipe to kill weeds (found on pinterest), we ate the meatloaf, and I honored our Scandinavian heritage with a Brussels Sprout salad recently found in a new (used) cookbook called The Scandinavian Kitchen.  Best of all, it gave me a reason to try out a new blade on the Cuisinart Food Processor.

apple brussels sprouts salad.jpg

Brussels Sprout Salad with Apple

12-18 large Brussels sprouts
1 large apple
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp coarse sea salt
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp canola or walnut oil
3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 Tbsp walnut kernels, toasted

Cut the sprouts and apple into very thin slices, leaving the apple peel on, but discarding the core.  Mix with the rest of the ingredients and leave to steep for a couple of hours.

Leftovers are fine the next day.

Serves 4

One thought on “Brussels Sprouts Salad with Apple

Leave a Reply

