Rhubarb Mustard

I love rhubarb.  It’s absolutely one of my favorite things to eat.  It might be because in 5th grade my science experiment looked at how quickly salt water, sugar water, and regular water traveled up the veins in a celery stick and rhubarb looks a lot like celery.  But, probably not.  I probably just like rhubarb.  My usual go-to with rhubarb are Rhubarb Bars.  I’ve also made a Rhubarb Torte.  In fact, it’s a little bit interesting that for a vegetable with such a short season in the spring, I’ve blogged about this ingredient more than most.

And, today, I write about rhubarb again.
Over the fourth of July, I met up with a couple of friends at a new-ish restaurant in Solon, Iowa, which is also a brewery.  We headed to Big Grove Brewery.  I’m slowly making my way through their craft beer list and food.  While we were there, we ate dinner and with our charcuterie plate came some Rhubarb Mustard.  It was pretty tasty.

With my love of rhubarb, I set out for a way to make this at home.  So, I started looking on google for a recipe for rhubarb mustard and found this recipe on Mason Jars to Muffin Tins.  It’s a modified recipe from a Gourmet magazine recipe, and while I didn’t try the original, this tasted about how I wanted it to taste.  I’m looking forward to serving it next week when I have some folks over as a thank you for helping with a photo shoot a couple weeks ago.
I think it would be kind of good with the grilled cheese I was making all last week, but then again, I love honey mustard and use it almost all of the time.

So, without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Rhubarb Mustard better


 

Rhubarb Mustard Begin
Rhubarb Mustard

¾ cup yellow mustard seeds
½ c brown mustard seeds
1 tsp fenugreek seeds
3 ½ c rhubarb, cut into ½ inch pieces
½ c sugar
½ c honey
¼ c brown sugar
1 ¾ c cider vinegar
½ tsp kosher salt

Grind the mustard and fenugreek into a fine powder.  Similar to the folks at Mason Jars to Muffin Tins, I use a coffee grinder that is used for grinding spices.  I also reserved 2 Tbsp of each kind of mustard seeds to help make it a more coarse mustard.  Put everything into a saucepan and cook over medium heat until the rhubarb is soft and unrecognizable.  It will get a little stringy and then help facilitate that by helping to mash it.  If you’d like a more smooth mustard, you can use an immersion blender to make a smooth mixture.  Add in extra mustard seeds.  Pour mustard into hot sterilized jars, seal, and process 15 minutes in a boiling water bath.


 

I can’t wait to take this home to share with my family in a few days.  In fact, I hear the cans popping behind me as they cool right now.

One thought on “Rhubarb Mustard

Leave a Reply

