Laundry Detergent

Yesterday I was on-call at work; I am one of about ten staff members who take turns each day serving on-call and responding to emergencies on-campus.  For me, this is a great time for me to catch up on things that need to happen around the house.  One of the items that’s been on my to-do list for a long time has been making laundry detergent.  I had all of the supplies and decided that yesterday would be the day I finally did this.

To start this process, I spent a lot of time over on the pinterest, looking for different ways to make laundry detergent and sought the “recipe” that seemed to make the most sense to me.  I finally decided the instructions over on the Saving By Design page.  The folks over there do a great job explaining the cost savings for making my own laundry detergent.  It was actually quite remarkable, so head over and take a look when you have a moment.  Overall, it just made the most sense to me.  The entire process was pretty easy, although I haven’t used the detergent yet (I think I have about five loads worth left in my current detergent status).  I followed the instructions, although it’s essentially buying a bunch of things and then putting them in a five gallon bucket and stirring them together.  The most time-consuming aspect was grating the fels-naptha bars.  I considered grating them in the food processor, but ultimately I decided to do it by hand.

As I put the detergent together, I tried to do it in layers, just to help the mixing process happen easily.  Apparently, I need to use about 1 Tbsp per load of laundry.  I’m pretty excited to start using it.

laundry detergent supplies

Laundry Detergent Recipe

  • 1 bottle Purex crystals
  • 1 box Borax
  • 1 box washing soda
  • 1 container oxi clean
  • 4 boxes baking soda
  • 3 bars fels naptha bars

Mix these items together in an air tight container, like a five gallon bucket (fills about half the bucket).  Use about 1 Tbsp per load of laundry.

laundry detergent finished

Leave a Reply

