Chai Banana Cake

Are you noticing a banana theme?  I obviously had some bananas in the freezer that needed to be used up and rather than the usual banana bread or banana bars, which are delicious, I wanted to experiment and find ways to use other items in the cupboards.

I was looking for a banana something and came across this cake recipe from the spoon, fork, bacon site.  It looked like the recipe I knew I wanted to make, so I decided to go for it.  I was using a chai mix that I had received as a fit, and in hindsight, wish that I had used the chai tea from the store instead.  But, I’ll try this again in the future.  Another reason I loved it?  It gave me a chance to use the great oval dish I bought last spring at an antique store!

Chai Banana Cake

2 1/4 c flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cardamom
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 c whole milk (I used fat free half and half that was in the refrigerator)
1 Tbsp chai
3 medium ripe bananas
1/2 c butter, softened
1 c light brown sugar (I used dark brown sugar)
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 325.  Pour milk and chai into a saucepan and bring to a simmer.  Remove from heat and steep for 20 minutes, later discarding the chai.  In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar.  Add eggs, one at a time.  Stir in vanilla and other spices.  Add the milk, bananas, and flour and stir together until combined.
Grease an 8×8 baking dish, oval baking dish, or bread pan and pour in the batter.  Bake for 1 hour 20 minutes to 1 hour 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted.
At this point, I used some pre-made cream cheese frosting that had come with cinnamon rolls a few weeks ago and spread it across the top.   This was a nice addition to the recipe.

Leave a Reply

