Turkey Gravy

gravy 2It’s the day after Thanksgiving, and while we have enough leftovers for a couple of meals, I think by Saturday, we’ll be pretty well knocked out on our leftovers.  Except, perhaps, for the gravy.  And the turkey broth.

I’m going to let out a little secret here: we tend to do our cooking ahead of time as much as possible.  We made our turkey on Wednesday (it helps to prevent the mess of carving the turkey at the table on Thanksgiving itself) and with snow coming down like crazy, my dad also made some turkey stock at my request.  In the delegation of the holiday cooking, I had volunteered to make the gravy.  It’s one of the items that people get most anxious about making on the Thanksgiving table because of recollections of lumpy gravy at one point or another in history.

Last week, I was driving through Colorado and listening to an episode of Science Friday (I had forgotten how much I loved that show) where they were discussing the science of some of the best-loved holiday dishes.  One item they discussed was the gravy.  And adding soy sauce to the gravy.  So, I was on the search for a recipe that included soy sauce.  I ended up finding one over on the Serious Eats web site which looked appealing enough to try out.  I used the turkey stock my dad had made after cooking off the turkey and when I told him I was using soy sauce, he was pretty skeptical.  But, the day ended with him asking me for the recipe, so I think we found ourselves in a good place.  In fact, he wouldn’t admit it, but I think we was waiting to freeze the rest of the stock until he knew it had turned out, but after the first batch was done, I had some strong encouragement to make a second batch (hence the leftover gravy).  I made a couple of modifications based on the suggestions from comments in the recipe.

turkey gravy

Turkey Gravy

1/4 c butter

1/4 c flour

4 c turkey stock

1 tsp soy sauce

1/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce

salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a saucepan.  Add flour and whisk together to turn into a roux.  As this cooks up and begins to brown, slowly add the stock, while whisking.  Ensure that this has whisked together and is not lumpy.  Then whisk in the soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Bring the mixture to a boil.  Then reduce heat and reduce to the thickness desired.

Because the house was nervous about the soy sauce and wanted time to fix this if needed, I ended up reducing the gravy for about 2 hours while the rest of the prep for Thanksgiving happened.  Others had suggested the gravy was a little thin, but since we reduced it for a long time, I thought it was of a good consistency.  I’m also pretty sure that in the future, I’ll be asked to make the gravy, which I think is a good sign.

One thought on “Turkey Gravy

Leave a Reply

