Vanilla Cardamom Pear Pie

For Thanksgiving, my dad and I decided we were doing the majority of the cooking this year.  Like often happens, my aunt and uncle who live close by came up to my parents house and we had a great time together.  We always end up talking about people in the area and as I’ve gotten older, I appreciate more and more the genealogy aspects we explore, so I appreciate things increasingly.

On Wednesday morning, I realized I’d left the pie crusts at my place, but luckily my parents had anticipated this problem.

Anyhoo, this year we decided to move away from the traditional pumpkin or pecan pies, which, although we love them, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to continue to move through some other favorite pies.  A few years ago I was on a kick with this pie recipe and realized I don’t have it written down anywhere.  The milk, eggs, chocolate blog has a lot of great recipes, and before the blog goes away, I wanted to make sure the recipe was in my list of recipes.  I decided to make vanilla cardamom pear pie.

Remember how I shared that I forgot the pie crusts?  Well, I also forgot the cardamom, and that’s not a spice my parents keep on hand.  I considered going up to the store to get it, but my commute had increased significantly due to heavy snow in my hometown (8 inches throughout the morning) and the mile to the grocery store just didn’t feel worth it.  So, in this situation, I substituted the cardamom with cinnamon.  Both are great.  The original (modified) recipe is below.

I’ve also made a few adjustments in order to accommodate for ingredients I had.  Check out the pie crust recipe over on the milk, eggs, chocolate blog.  While I didn’t use it this time, it has worked quite well in the past.

Cardamom Pear Pie

Vanilla Cardamom Pear Pie

2 pie crusts
Filling:
5-6 medium pears, sliced thinly (I try to use a variety of pears, if I have access to them)
1/4 c sugar
1/4 c flour
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp cardamom (or cinnamon)
1 Tbsp vanilla paste (like this one)

Combine pears, sugar, vanilla, cardamom, flour, and vanilla paste in a large bowl.  Toss to blend well and let stand until dry ingredients become moist (about 30 minutes).

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place one pie crust in a pie baking dish.  Choose the shapes you’d like for the top of the pie (I used leaf cookie cutters this time) and prep that method.  Fill the first pie crust with filling.  Place the second crust on top.  Bake for 35 minutes and then tent with foil to prevent it from turning too brown.  Continue baking until it is the desired level of brown, about 10 more minutes.

Cool pie on a rack.

Leave a Reply

